Audi Sport ABT Schaeffler Wins E Prix in Berlin Again

It was the tenth victory of Lucas in the electric racing series.


Audi Sport ABT Schaeffler has won the E Prix again in Berlin. Last year, it was Daniel Abt who raised the trophy, while this year it is the hard work and skills of Lucas di Grassi which enabled them to repeat the home victory.

It was the tenth victory of Lucas in the electric racing series. He achieved the second position in the overall Formula E drivers’ championship, allowing the Audi Sport ABT Schaeffler to celebrate their 40th Formula E podium.

Lucas was driving the Audi e-Tron FE05 and gained the 3rd position on the grid. “From this moment on, I knew that we’d be able to win today,” stated di Grassi, who was just five laps behind to win the race.

“That was a very strategic race today,” stated di Grassi. “It was about energy management and we showed that our car is very efficient. Winning Audi’s home round in front of such an enthusiastic crowd is simply fantastic. We’re back in the title race and are going to have a big party tonight.”

Daniel Abt also worked very hard as he set off from the sixth position on the grid. “Honestly speaking, I had hoped for more than the sixth position,” stated Abt. “But I was in the thick of the action. The battles were rough and I bent my steering column in contact with another car: a hard race, but some good points.”

“I’m extremely happy that we won again for Audi in Berlin,” said Team Principal Allan McNish. “After yesterday’s free practice sessions, we didn’t really know where we stood and whether our strategy of saving tires for the race day would pan out. Lucas quickly clinched the lead from third on the grid and then just pulled clear of the field. Daniel fought a tough battle for the sixth position, with which he also scored valuable points for the team.”

Audi’s customer team Envision Virgin Racing also scored good points in Berlin. Sam Bird and Robin Frijns did the job for the team.

You might also like

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.